

Policy Update

May 16, 2025

Members Appointed to Comprehensive Property Tax Task Force

In response to legislation passed during the 2025 Legislative Session, a task force was established to study property taxes. The Comprehensive Property Tax Task Force will be assigned to conduct a comprehensive review of property tax policies and identify impactful, substantive measures to provide significant and lasting tax relief for the homeowners of this state. Members appointed to the task force include:

Representatives:

- Rep. Jon Hansen (R-Dell Rapids) Speaker of the House
- Rep. Julie Auch (R-Yankton)
- Rep. Leslie Heinemann (R-Flandreau)
- Rep. Scott Odenbach (R-Spearfish)
- Rep. Greg Jamison (R-Sioux Falls)
- Rep. John Hughes (R-Sioux Falls)
- Rep. Jana Hunt (R-Dupree)
- Rep. Peri Pourier (R-Rapid City)

Senators:

- Sen. Chris Karr (R-Sioux Falls) Senate President Pro Tempore
- Sen. Sue Peterson (R-Sioux Falls)
- Sen. Taffy Howard (R-Rapid City)
- Sen. Jim Mehlhaff (R-Pierre)
- Sen. Randy Deibert (R-Spearfish)
- Sen. Ernie Otten (R-Tea)
- Sen. Glen Vilhauer (R-Watertown)

In addition to legislators, the Commissioner for Bureau of Finance and Management as well as Kirk Chaffee (Governor Rhoden's representative) will serve on the committee.

South Dakota Farm Bureau will follow the task force and keep you updated on any developments.

Click here to learn more about the task force.

Members Appointed to the Agricultural Land Assessment Implementation and Oversight Advisory Task Force

The Agricultural Land Assessment Implementation and Oversight Advisory Task Force also known as the "Ag Land Assessment Task Force" received its appointments for the next two years. The task force was created in 2008 when South Dakota moved to the current productivity methodology to assess agricultural property. The goals of the task force are to advise the Department of Revenue regarding the rules promulgated to administer the

provisions concerning the assessment and taxation of agricultural lands and to review the implementation of the law concerning the assessment and taxation of agricultural land. Members of the task force include:

Representatives:

- Rep. Jana Hunt (R-Dupree)
- Rep. Marty Overweg (R-New Holland)
- Rep. Nicole Uhre-Balk (D-Rapid City)
- Rep. Kadyn Wittman (D-Sioux Falls)

Senators:

- Sen. Red Dawn Foster (D-Pine Ridge)
- Sen. Mark Lapka (R-Leola)
- Sen. Liz Larson (D-Sioux Falls)
- Sen. Sam Marty (R-Prairie City)

In addition to legislators, Rick Bonander, Gene Cox, Caleb Finck, Kenny Fox, Kennith Gosch, and Jason VanDenTop will serve on the task force.

Click here to learn more about the Ag Land Assessment Task Force.

GFP Seeking Comments on Draft Black Hills Beaver Action Plan

The South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks (GFP) is seeking comments on the draft "Black Hills Beaver Action Plan, 2025-2029."

The Black Hills Beaver Action Plan, 2025-2029, is a document that will be used by GFP to guide beaver management in the Black Hills of South Dakota through identified management objectives and strategies to meet those management objectives.

The draft Black Hills Beaver Action Plan can be found online at <u>gfp.sd.gov/management-plans</u>. Individuals interested in beaver management in South Dakota may provide suggestions and comments on the revised action plan by July 2, 2025. Written comments must be received by the deadline and include your full name and city of residence. Comments can be sent to 523 E. Capitol Ave., Pierre, S.D. 57501, or submitted at <u>gfp.sd.gov/forms/positions/</u>.

Contact for Questions

Krystil Smit SDFB Executive Director Email: <u>k.smit@sdfbf.org</u> Cell: (605) 261-2960

Matthew Bogue SDFB State Public Policy Director Email: <u>Matthew@sdfbf.org</u> Cell: (605) 377-8833