About Us

South Dakota Farm Bureau is a grassroots membership organization established in 1917 when the first county Farm Bureaus banded together to create the state organization and today represents more than 16,000 farm, ranch and rural families.

Mission & Vision: Your Trusted Leader in Agriculture.

Board of Directors

South Dakota Farm Bureau is made up of an 11-member state Board of Directors, all who are farmers and ranchers.

Photo of Scott VanderWal.

Scott VanderWal


from Volga, S.D.

Scott VanderWal is a third-generation family farmer from Volga, South Dakota. On their farm, Scott and his wife, Michelle, raise corn soybeans and do custom cattle-feeding and some custom harvesting. Scott also serves as vice-president of American Farm Bureau Federation.

Photo of Jeffery Gatzke.

Jeffery Gatzke

Vice President

from Hitchcock, S.D.

Jeffery and his wife, Sheila, own and operate their family farm and feedlot near Hitchcock, South Dakota. In 2002 they were elected National Young Farmers & Ranchers Chair and held a seat on the American Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors.

Photo of Reid Jensen.

Reid Jensen

District 1

from Burbank, S.D.

Photo of Ron Krogstad unavailable.

Ron Krogstad

District 2

from Baltic, S.D.

Photo of Jerry Runia.

Jerry Runia

District 3

from Estelline, S.D.

Photo of Nick Ihnen.

Nick Ihnen

District 4

from Tulare, S.D.

Photo of Mark Salvador.

Clay Conry

District 5

from Mud Butte, S.D.

Photo of Scot Eisenbraun.

Scot Eisenbraun

District 6

from Wall, S.D.

Photo of Roger Hainy.

Roger Hainy

District 7

from Wessington Springs, S.D.

Photo of Mark Salvador.

Mark Salvador

P&E Committee

from Sioux Falls, S.D.

Photo of Josh Sybesma unavailable.

Courtney Salvador

P&E Committee

from Sioux Falls, S.D.

Photo of Josh Sybesma unavailable.

Jay Myers

Young Farmers & Ranchers

from Winner, S.D.

Photo of Lin Sybesma unavailable.

Sarah Myers

Young Farmers & Ranchers

from Winner, S.D.

Photo of Tony Farmen.

Tony Farmen

Agri-Business Board Member

from Ft. Pierre, S.D.

Photo of John Piroutek.

Caleb McGregor

Student Board Member

from Webster, S.D.

Staff Directory

Photo of Krystil Smit.

Krystil Smit

Executive Director

Photo of Lowell Mesman.

Lowell Mesman

Western Regional Manager

Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee Coordinator

Photo of Helen Geppert.

Helen Geppert

Eastern Regional Manager

SDSU Collegiate Farm Bureau Coordinator

Photo of Brenda Dreyer.

Brenda Dreyer

Marketing & Communications Director

Photo of Julie Fritzsche.

Office Manager

Administrative Assistant

Photo of Jackie Winegar.

Jackie Winegar

Accounting Specialist

HR Coordinator

Photo of Matthew Bouge.

Matthew Bogue

State Public Policy Director

Photo of Heather Lentz.

Heather Lentz

Member Engagement Coordinator

Photo unavailable.