Farm and ranch families who have consistently owned their land for a century or more were honored at the 2020 South Dakota State Fair, receiving a Century, Quasquicentennial or Sesquicentennial Farm and Ranch award from South Dakota Farm Bureau (SDFB) and the South Dakota Department of Agriculture (SDDA).

This year, 25 families were honored with the Century Farm award for 100 years of ownership; 16 were honored with the Quasquicentennial award for 125 years of family ownership; and 2 were honored with the Sesquicentennial award for 150 years of family ownership.

Since the program began honoring families in 1984, South Dakota Farm Bureau and the South Dakota Department of Agriculture have recognized over 3 thousand farm and ranch families.

More details about the program and photos of this year’s honorees can be found at

To learn more about South Dakota Farm Bureau visit


Century (100) Farm / Ranch Honorees

Carl Ashdown - Hyde County 

Frances Behnke - Marshall County

Charles & Peggy Boydston - Pennington County

David & Sharon Bushnell - Lyman County

Cindy Dancler (Jan Family Farm) - Charles Mix County

Allen & Margaret (Youngberg) Eggers - Roberts County

Agnes E.L. Gross - Hand County

Barbara Sue Haynes - Aurora County

Byron & Dennis Hendrickson- Hamlin County

Joanne, Roger & Evan Jensen - Kingsbury County

Paul & Bridget Johnson - Codington County

Dan Kari - Perkins County

Eugene & Lois Kleinjan - Brookings County

John & Loni Kocmich - Charles Mix County

Jimmie Larsen - Turner County

William H & Diane McDaniel - Haakon County

Curtis & Heather (Koerner) McGuigan - Lawrence County

Nix Family Ranch LP - Jones County

Matthew & Muriel (Gade) Olson - Codington County

Rasmussen-Lehman 33 Ranch - Mellette County

Mark & Jill Rust - Hamlin County

Marshall & Colleen Springer – Buffalo Butte Ranch - Gregory County

Donald & Dianna Stotz - Potter County

Kerry & Paula Warkenthien - Clark County

Steve, Linda, Terry, Robin Wicks - Lake County


Quasquicentennial (125) Farm / Ranch Honorees

Avis Brandenburger - Roberts County

Donald & Fae Dayton - Brown County

Kathleen (Eickman) Piscitello - McCook County

Donald Erickson - Marshall County

Kaija Graves - Brule County

Larry & Linda Halse - Codington County

Gerald Hefner - Davison County

David & Marcia Johnson - Brookings County

Joe & Paul Nordstrom - Roberts County

Don & Helen (Whipple) Prater - Grant County

Geraldine D Purtell - Charles Mix County

Darlene & Mark Ripp - Hutchinson County

Donna Schwartz - Minnehaha County

Donna Webster - - Minnehaha County

Zane L Williams - Yankton County                                                      

David Thyen - Codington County


Sesquiscentennial (150) Farm / Ranch 2020

 F. Arlene DeVany - Clay County

Clifford, Janet & Clayton Sorum - Lincoln County