South Dakota Farm Bureau (SDFB) members from across the state recently took part in SDFB Day at the South Dakota Capitol on Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2023.

County Farm Bureau leaders joined members of the SDFB board of directors and staff for a day full of committee meetings, discussions with Gov. Kristi Noem, Lt. Gov. Larry Rhoden and other elected officials.

Members also received important updates from South Dakota Game Fish and Parks Secretary Kevin Robling and South Dakota State Veterinarian Beth Thompson on issues facing South Dakota farmers and ranchers. 

“South Dakota Farm Bureau members had the opportunity to talk personally with their local legislators about policy priorities and see the legislative process at work,” said Krystil Smit, SDFB Executive Director. “Having our members from all over the state at the Capitol for SDFB Day was very impactful.” 

SDFB members served lunch to legislators, showcasing the role farmers and ranchers have in feeding our state, country, and world. The SDFB delegation was also formally introduced on the Senate and House floors. SDFB members Sen. Joshua Klumb, Mitchell and Rep. Roger Chase of Huron introduced the delegation to a standing ovation from legislators.  

Attending were members from Beadle, Brookings/Kingsbury, Brown, Charles Mix, Clark/Day, Clay/Union, Davison/Hanson, Deuel/Grant, Douglas, Haakon, Hughes/Stanley/Sully, Jerauld/Sanborn/Aurora, Meade/Ziebach, Minnehaha, Pennington/Jackson, Spink/Faulk, Tripp/Mellette and Turner, 

To learn more about the policy topics South Dakota Farm Bureau is following during the 2023 Legislative Session visit and click on “Policy”.


Julie Fritzsche


Emily Matejka

Adrienne Lipinsky

Ginger Post

Jerry Runia

Mercedes Schueler

Micheal Tauer

Scott VanderWal


Brenda Dreyer

Kiara Leddy

Jeffrey Wolff

Charles Mix

Barb Buitenbos

Henry Buitenbos

Lyle Nepodal


Russ Hurlbert

Ryan Schmidt


Sydney Davis


Helen Geppert

Mark Klumb

Rebecca Klumb

Heather Lentz


Scott Brandenburger


Steve Veenstra


John Piroutek

Hughes /Stanley/Sully

Lowell Mesman


Roger Hainy

Wayne Haines


Clay Conry

Larry Stomprud


Kevin Callies

Joyce Callies

Ron Krogstad

Mark Salvador

Glen Scott

Deborah Wirtjes

Ron Wirtjes


Kassidy Eisenbraun

Scot Eisenbraun

Tyrel Eisenbraun


Jeffery Gatzke

Nick Ihnen

Matt Smith


Rob Koskan


James Benson

Matthew Bogue

Krystil Smit

Richard Vasgaard