South Dakota Farm Bureau (SDFB) is pleased to announce six winners of the annual SDFB Scholarship.

SDFB will award $7,400 in scholarship monies for 2022. Recipients are high school seniors and college students who themselves or parents/guardians are current members of South Dakota Farm Bureau and have been for at least two years. Applicants could be considered for an agriculture-focused or community-focused scholarship, depending on their major and experience with agriculture.

“South Dakota Farm Bureau takes great pride in recognizing young people who have a passion for agriculture and their rural communities with this scholarship,” said Krystil Smit, SDFB Executive Director. “We are proud to continue this tradition and wish them success in their educational journey.”

The South Dakota Farm Bureau Scholarship Fund was established in 2005 by Richard and Agnes Ekstrum of Kimball, S.D. Richard served as South Dakota Farm Bureau's president from 1975 - 1995.

2022 SDFB Scholarship Winners include:

Agriculture-focused applicants/awardees:

Matea Gordon of Whitewood, S.D. will be attending South Dakota State University and plans to pursue an agricultural business major.

Caleb McGregor of Webster, S.D. will be attending South Dakota State University, pursing an agricultural engineering major.

Danielle Nowell of Hitchcock, S.D. will be attending South Dakota State University, majoring in agriculture communications.

Community-focused applicants/awardees:

Alexis Roth of Highmore, S.D. plans to major in Human Biology/Pre-Medicine at South Dakota State University.

Shelby Ruland of Wall, S.D. is an Agricultural Leadership and Political Science major, attending South Dakota State University.

Zoey Schentzel of Brookings, S.D. is an Agriculture Communications major and is attending South Dakota State University.

For more information about South Dakota Farm Bureau visit