South Dakota Farm Bureau Young Farmers & Ranchers Present Awards


The South Dakota Farm Bureau (SDFB) Young Farmers and Ranchers (YF&R) Committee recognized several individuals at the SDFB Centennial Convention held recently in Sioux Falls.


An award of high esteem given by YF&R is in honor of former SDFB president and board member Richard Kjerstad of Wall, S.D.


Recognized as the “Richard Kjerstad Friend of YF&R” for 2017 were Paul and Carol Shubeck of Centerville, S.D. Paul has served on the South Dakota Farm Bureau board of directors. He has also been involved with other state ag organizations and has recently been named as the new Farm Services Agency director for South Dakota. Carol is actively involved in their farming operation.


Also recognized at the Centennial Convention were Matt and Kristy Smith of Hitchcock, S.D., as the state Excellence in Ag Award winners. The Excellence in Ag award recognizes a YF&R member who excels in agriculture, leadership ability and involvement with Farm Bureau. The Smiths will represent SDFB YF&R at the national Excellence in Ag contest during the American Farm Bureau Convention in Nashville, Tenn., Jan. 5-10, 2018.


Nick and Rebekah Ihnen of Tulare, S.D., were recognized for their leadership as the outgoing YF&R chairs; and the outgoing vice-chairs, Tom and Katy VanderWal of Brookings, S.D., were also appreciated. Matt and Kristy Smith are the incoming YF&R Chairmen for 2018; and Riley and Kailee Schwader of Howard, S.D., are the incoming vice-chairs for the committee.


The YF&R Committee is made up of SDFB between the ages of 18 and 35 who are enthusiastic about agriculture and want to grow into leadership roles in Farm Bureau. For more information about South Dakota Farm Bureau can be found at