South Dakota Farm Bureau is accepting nominations for the Anne Hunter award. The award is given each year to one or more South Dakota Farm Bureau members at the South Dakota Farm Bureau Annual meeting. The 2016 meeting will take place November 18 & 19 in Rapid City, S.D.

Last years winner was the late Richard Ekstrum and his wife Agnes of Kimball, S.D. The Ekstrums operation concentrated on livestock with a farrow to finish hog unit as their main enterprise. Richard was recognized as a respected agriculture leader and spokesman for farmers and ranchers and has received numerous recognitions including being inducted into the South Dakota Hall of Fame. Both Richard and Agnes were very involved in South Dakota Farm Bureau serving in various leadership roles including the 12th State Board President from 1975 to 1995.

Anne Marie Hunter was a graduate of the University of South Dakota, a lifelong educator who taught in Tyndall, Thomas, rural Bryant, and Hazel, S.D. Anne and her husband, Herbert Hunter Sr., farmed the majority of their married life in Oxford Township in Hamlin County near the town of Thomas. Anne is described as a true champion of Farm Bureau, someone who worked tirelessly as a volunteer to advance the organization and the farm and ranch families that it represents. Anne volunteered as the SDFB Women's Coordinator in 1984-85 and was the Women's Chairman in 1986-89, when she also served on the state Board of Directors.

Nomination forms are due by October 17, 2016. Mail the completed form to South Dakota Farm Bureau PO Box 1426, Huron, SD 57350 or e-mail it to For more information on South Dakota Farm Bureau visit